Which entry to the 2019 Book Illustration Competition has captured your imagination? Vote for your favourite illustrations!

In addition to the main Book Illustration Competition Award, our standalone People’s Choice Award recognises the illustrations of Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones that resonate most with you.

How to vote for The People’s Choice Award

Our expert panel of judges has selected a longlist of 25 exceptional entries, all of which will be exhibited here on our online gallery from 1 – 28 February, where you can submit your vote.

You can only vote once and voting closes at 11.59pm (GMT) on Monday 25 February.

The People’s Choice Award will be presented to the longlisted entry with the most votes from the public at the Awards Night on 26 February.

The artist who wins The People’s Choice Award will receive books of their choosing worth £100 from The Folio Society, plus a year’s membership to House of Illustration. A randomly selected member of the public who has cast a vote will also win books of their choice worth £50 from The Folio Society, plus two tickets to House of Illustration.

On the same night we will also announce the overall competition winner and runners-up, as selected by our judges.

Whoever gets your vote, let us know on Twitter and Instagram by tagging @IllustrationHQ and @foliosociety using #BIC2019 and #MyBIC2019

The longlisted entries

Click on an image to enlarge it, and esc to exit.

Longlist entry 1 - Ehsan Abarghouei


Longlist entry 2 - Emily Altman


Longlist entry 3 - Julia Bernhard


Longlist entry 4 - Cathy Brett


Longlist entry 5 - Janelle Carbajal


Longlist entry 6 - Lulu Chen


Longlist entry 7 - Kateřina Čupová


Longlist entry 8 - Iona Darroch


Longlist entry 9 - Alejo and Vivian de los Rios


Longlist entry 10 - Kring Demetrio


Longlist entry 11 - Rebecca Dennis


Longlist entry 12 - Marina Evlanova


Longlist entry 13 - Jorge Garcia


Longlist entry 14 - Marie-Alice Harel


Longlist entry 15 - Sija Hong


Longlist entry 16 - Dean Lewis


Longlist entry 17 - Yijing Li


Longlist entry 18 - Joseph Lillington


Longlist entry 19 - Erika Meza


Longlist entry 20 - Alex Moore


Longlist entry 21 - Junli Song


Longlist entry 22 - Anna Wojtcz


Longlist entry 23 - Harry Woodgate


Longlist entry 24 - Tania Yakunova


Longlist entry 25 - Vikki Zhang


It’s time to cast your vote!

Terms and Conditions

By voting for The People’s Choice Award you are entering a competition to win books of your choice worth £50 from The Folio Society, plus two tickets to House of Illustration. A single winner will be selected at random from all the public votes. Our decision is final and no correspondence will be entered into in relation to that decision. No cash equivalent is available in whole or part. A valid email address must be part of each entry.  The winner will be notified by the email on the entry, within 15 days of the closing date. If we do not receive a response from the winner within 28 days the prize will be awarded to another voter.

You can only vote once and voting closes at 23.59 GMT on 25 February 2019. Voting is open to members of the public aged 18 or over, except employees of The Folio Society and House of Illustration, their families, associated companies and suppliers.

All data will be processed in accordance with The Folio Society and House of Illustration’s privacy policy. We will not be liable for any computer malfunction which results in votes not being received. Votes not submitted in accordance with the rules or which are otherwise incomplete or illegible will be disqualified.

Comments are closed.